New York State Senate Receives Environmental Report Card

Over half of all Senators earn perfect scores


Albany – Today, Environmental Advocates Action (EA Action) released its 2022 Environmental Scorecard for the State Senate, which reports the environmental voting records of all New York State Senators on legislation found to have a positive or negative impact on New York’s environment. The Scorecard also contains bill information, and the previous year’s score of elected officials.

The Scorecard is being released as voters are getting ready to vote in Senate primary elections.

Peter M. Iwanowicz, Executive Director of Environmental Advocates Action said, “Since 2019, the Senate Majority has settled into the role of environmental leader. This is a testament to Senate Majority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins who has received a perfect score every year she has been leader. With so many important environmental issues confronting New York, the Senate Majority has shown it is up to the challenge.”

2022 Senate Session Highlights 

This year, the Senate passed measures that:

  • Protect streams and wetlands to ensure that wildlife has protected habitats and that all New Yorkers can have access to clean water;
  • Addressed the climate crisis by:
    • Cutting energy waste in our homes and business with new codes and standards for appliances;
    • Requiring all school buses to be zero-emission by 2035;
    • Requiring all vehicles, including the state’s fleet to be electric no later than 2035; and
    • Putting a moratorium on the conversion of shuttered power plants to cryptocurrency “mining” facilities.
  • Reduce solid waste by supporting recycling programs and requiring carpet manufacturers to take their products back instead of being disposed in a landfill or burned in an incinerator;
  • Assess the cumulative impacts of projects to reverse the awful history of environmental racism;
  • Clear the air of toxics particularly in low-income communities and communities of color;
  • Increase funding in the state budget for land protection, climate action, children’s environmental health programs, and clean water infrastructure; and
  • Increase the size and scope of the proposed environmental bond act to ensure funding for environmental justice and strong labor standards for the people who will do the work.

Key scores:

Senate Majority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins—100%

Senate Minority Leader Robert Ortt—51%

Chair of Committee on Environmental Conservation Todd Kaminsky—96% (no longer in office)

Chair of Committee on Energy and Telecommunications Kevin S. Parker—100%

Chair of Committee on Agriculture Michelle Hinchey—100%

Chair of Committee on Transportation Timothy M. Kennedy—96%